autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: How am I scratching my car?

I'm pretty new to caring for my paint with care, and read and learned a lot here about how to safely wash our cars to prevent scratches and swirls. Once I started to do it "right", I went the extra mile and did some paint correction on my black Lexus ES350 (which, I understand, has soft paint). I'm not a pro, but I would say I achieved 85% corrected paint. Thrilled with the results, I was excited to keep my car looking great.

The one aspect of my wash process I didn't want to give up was the water blade. I figured that if I were careful and wiped the blade down after each swipe, it's gotta be safe, right? It certainly is faster, and helped eliminate water spots, so I decided to keep it.

I can't say with absolute certainty that I cleaned the blade with each swipe, but I think I did. Regardless, the second time I washed my car, and was applying wax, I noticed a straight, long scratch on the hood of my car that followed EXACTLY the stroke I would have made with the blade. I know for sure that something about the water blade scratched my car. As soon as I figured it out, the blade went in the trash!