autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

going from a painted trim piece back to regular trim. tips/ideas?

the front wiper cowl of my supra was painted by a previous owner, it was a terrible job, auto hobby store paint so the clear cracked and peeled terribly on it. i was planning on stripping it and just repainting it the same color as the car, but after stripping it it would look just as good in the stock black exterior trim type but coated nicely.

question is, since i have never done any repair on trim before aside from painting. has anyone had success with doing a fine sanding of trim pieces before using something like the turtle wax endura shine tire coating. will sanding marks from say 600 or 800 show up through the coating? its got a lot of lines and detail in it. so that could help hide imperfections, but i want to know whether or not this will pan out before i decide to coat the whole thing in a durable coating, or even a section which may not be too telling for the whole thing once its done being coated.

anyone who has sanded and used a trim coating on trim pieces who can chime in, it would be very helpful, thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: going from a painted trim piece back to regular trim. tips/ideas?

bump.

nobody has tried sanding and then using a trim coating like c4 or endura shine afterwards with good or bad success?? about to go try it, but i have no test pieces, the last thing i want is a coating impregnated into the surface of the plastic ruining the adhesion for paint later if it has to be done that way.

Post Thanks / Like