autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Bought a used service vehicle that had decals: decals gone but paint gloss still shows decal outline

I did a search and I could not find anything related. I am a newbie to this art but I have clayed and waxed cars in the past. I bought a used police vehicle which already had the decals stripped away. I can still see the lettering as the paint behind where the decals were is extremely glossy and the rest of the vehicle is dull. Do you think just a good clay and way job should even this out or should I be more aggressive and run a polish then glaze then wax? If so, what kind of polish would you recommend? This isn't any sort of show truck but I'd like to take it back to 100% OEM if possible.
    “May God save the country, for it is evident that the people will not.” –President Millard Fillmore

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Bought a used service vehicle that had decals: decals gone but paint gloss still shows decal outline

Paint correction compound and polish will most likely remove it or at least lessen the difference so it's barely noticeable.

Post Thanks / Like
    Like stated before you will need to do a paint correction job a combo like meguiars m105 and m205 should do the trick ...good luck

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Bought a used service vehicle that had decals: decals gone but paint gloss still shows decal outline

yep, what the others have said.
    Paint has natural wear due to the elements if not protected by a wax, sealant or coating...or in this case, decals.
    The paint under the decals is basically new 'cause the decals were likely installed when the vehicle was new, i assume.