autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mike Phillips

Perfectionist Detailing #1 - Compounding & Polishing right up to an edge

Perfectionist Detailing #1 - Compounding & Polishing right up to an edge

From post 15 of this thread

Best Practice - Avoid buffing on top of body lines and edges

Just to note, sometimes it's a good idea to read the entire thread for the full context of the topic.

Quote Originally Posted by paramount View Post
    This is good info! I wondered why painters tape was used. So how do you clean or buff the body lines? I'm new to detailing so I apologize for my ignorance.
    It's a great question and a common question. What you're talking about is called,

Perfectionist Detailing

While I don't have a dedicated article on this topic I've written about it a lot so for right now, I'm going to just copy and paste what I've already posted to the below thread with a similar question...

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/...nt-film-2.html

Quote Originally Posted by 1fastTbird View Post

Different, but related question: do you guys hand polish body lines before or after taping?

Or asked another way before or after machine polishing?

After as then you can remove any tape-line residue.

I call this, Perfectionist Detailing, that is rubbing out the thin space of paint that runs along trim that was covered by tape. I actually discuss this in in this article I wrote after first coming to Autogeek back in 2009. All the information in this article is just as accurate today as it was when I wrote it and it's a re-write of an even older article on the topic.

Step-by-Step How-To use the Porter Cable 7424XP

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Phillips