autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mike Phillips

More is better? Amps - Watts - Volts and Rupes Polishers

More is better? Amps - Watts - Volts and Rupes Polishers

On page 8 of the below thread the discussion turns to a talk about Amps & Watts as it relates to more powerful tools.

SEMA Release of Rupes - Page 8

I'm not an electrical engineer and don't care to become one and I also don't have the time or inclination to solve the issue of whether more is better when it comes to power tool.

That said, in Post #85 of the above thread I did say I would share what Marco D'Inca told me at SEMA on the topic of trying to determine the correction power of a tool by simply or only going by the tools rated power needs as rated by Amps and Watts.

And to preface this discussion, my Auto Shop Teacher in High School tried his hardest to explain this to our class using some weird Dirt Bike jumping over a ditch analogy and his explanation didn't help back then and I still don't know what he was talking about even to today.

Here's what Marco said and this of course is a paraphrase and I'll use a picture below to try to help make the point.

Marco said,

The amount of amps or watts a tool uses does not automatically equate to the efficiency of the tool.

Let's look at that again,

The amount of amps or watts a tool uses does not automatically equate to the efficiency of the tool.

Then he used a miles per gallon analogy with cars to explain tool efficiency which I found easier to understand than the dirt bikes jumping a ditch analogy my high school shop teacher tried to use with the class.