autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Pad Size why 5.5 in.??

I have a 2012 BMW that I have been polishing. I am new to this so I could be wrong, but it sure seems to have a hard clear coat. After getting frustrated over the length of time it was taking I have ordered 5 ˝ pads. Will I notice that much difference dropping from 6 ˝ to 5 ˝ pads? What size of pads do most people on here use with a DA polisher?

Mike

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Pad Size why 5.5 in.??

Your technique is the most important variable, but 5.5" pads will help. I use 5.5" and 4" pads with my DA and rotary.
    Enrique - Amateur Detailer Extraordinaire
    "Man is an emotional animal, occasionally rational; and through his feelings he can be deceived to his heart's content." - Durant

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Mike,

The 6 1/2" diameter pads a Porter Cable type dual action polisher in my opinion pushes the limit of the machine and this could be part of the problem.

I have the Porter Cable 7424 and found a world of difference when I decided to try Lake Country 5 1/2 diameter pads.

The Porter Cable 7424 style dual action polisher should come standard with 5 1/2 inch pads and corresponding backing plate.

Pads & Friction

The size or surface area does not directly affect the frictional force between two surfaces until downward force or pressure is applied. Reducing the pad size will only improve the mechanical efficiency of the machine.