autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Product choice and pad choice recommendation for newbie?

Hello everyone,
    I am new to the detailing world and I can tell you it is quite confusing when choosing the right products for the right project.
    It is confusing how some companies use polish and wax interchangeably...I thought they were two different things. Am I wrong? I thought we polish the the surface to a nice look and then we apply wax to protect it? It doesn't make sense because some companies claim their polish is better than some waxes or sealants out there? Are they implying to just use their polish and you're done?

Anyways, besides that confusion, I am getting ready for a big detailing project on my car. It is a 1995 Mercedes-Benz S420(huge sedan), with the factory Polar White color.
    I need a recommendation on products and perhaps even pads (if the ones I have are not correct) that is best for the white paint.

I am not new to using the tools, and how to polish and wax cars. My cousin had taught me how to do all that when he needed my help in detailing his cars. The problem is I never paid much attention to the products he used and the steps.
    So I tried researching and the more I read, the more confused I became (as stated above, difference between polish/wax/sealants/rubbing compound etc).

Here is a list of products I have:

Buffer and Pads:
    • Porter Cable 7424XP kit that came with the pads listed below as well as a 5 inch backing plate.
    • 7.5" CCS Curved Edge Yellow Cutting Pad