autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Ceramic noob here...need some advice

Hey All,

I need some advice. I'd call myself somewhat of an advanced hobby detailer. I'm not at the level of some of you pros, but over the years I've become fairly competent at removing defects and maintaining the finish. I have a solid wash routine and have a PC, Flex, and rotary. I'm sure I'm not as good at removing defects as I could be, but I certainly get my cars to a level that I'm super happy with.

Up until now, I've always used polymer sealants for my LSP and sometimes topped with a pure carnauba wax to make darker colors pop. Most recently, I been using Wolfgang Deep Gloss and I just love that product. However, I have two new cars coming and I think I'd like to step up my game and try a ceramic coating. I've heard people shy away because it just locks in imperfections and requires a full correction first. But the way I see it, if I can polish my car to a level that I'm happy with, why not coat it and get the longer lasting protection along with easier maintenance? I can always decontaminate, polish and recoat the car every year to make sure that I maintain the finish.

So does this make sense? Is there any reason I should just stick with sealant and leave the ceramic to the professionals? If coating is the way to go, what products would you recommend for a beginner? I've seen some on Adam's site including a ceramic spray. I'm really looking for any tidbits that can help me figure out a routine for the rides.

Thanks in advance!

2. Thanks Me Time thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Ceramic noob here...need some advice