autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie Question About Polishing By Hand

I know it is highly recommended to polish by machine but I'm still new to this and haven't purchased a machine polisher yet.
    I would like to remove the old sealant - (probably six or seven months old) and at the same time try and remove some swirls and minor scratches from the paint on our Jeep.
    What polish would you recommend for this and what kind of pad for just hand polishing?
    When you hand polish do you use a straight line or circular motion and lastly is a wipe down recommended after polishing and before applying a sealant and if so what product would you use?
    Sorry for all these questions. I rely on your expertise to help newbies like me.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie Question About Polishing By Hand

Seriously don’t even bother trying to hand polish, it’ll never be anywhere near as good as a random orbital polisher which is about $100-$150, go to dinner a few less times and you’ll have one and you’ll appreciate it. As one of my mentor detailers always said to me “the hand cannot move at hundreds of RPM like a polisher can”, your results will be far more uniform, far more gloss and last longer than a hand polish.

But if you must, Meguires 205 is a great polish….
    Glen -

3. Likes CleanIT liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

What glen said. If you must though, I've had good results with P21s Paintwork Cleanser for this type of job.

Post Thanks / Like

You can use Blackfire One Step....it cleans...polishes....protects....and it can be applied by hand...

6. Likes CleanIT liked this post
    Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by Bode04 View Post