autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Aluminum and Fiberglass

I'm new to this cleaning, detailing, and polishing world, so looking for advice - you won't offend me by dumbing it down, in fact I need that!

I have a 1965 Seven. The aluminum portion of the body was originally painted, but was scraped and stripped in about 2008 - with little to nothing done to it since. It is in ok shape, oxidized and a bit flat, looks better in pictures and from afar than it is. Well-patina'd, and will never be perfect without a reskin (it is 56 years old, after all). The fiberglass nose and wings were repainted a couple years ago and are in quite good shape.

Aluminum and Fiberglass-05232020pic1-jpg

I've spoken with a couple local detailers, but am not convinced they really know what they're doing with aluminum polishing - and when I got quotes I started thinking, if I can rebuild the suspension and rebuild the engine (it is out for that purpose currently), I should be able to figure out how to clean and polish as well. And I'll need to know how to do this if I want to keep it looking decent without spending a fortune in detailing.

Based on advice from someone who does know aluminum, I now have a cyclo polisher that I'll use to polish and maintain the alu. First pass, though, I'll use a more traditional polisher to compound it. I'm planning to use Nuvite products for both compounding and polishing. I feel reasonably comfortable about this process, but welcome any advice, warnings, and/or tips.