autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Will I really see a difference?

Just joined the forum but have viewed a few times in the past. Hats off and thanks to Mike for all the valuable videos and info; I really enjoy them.

Not a pro, just an enthusiast who owns a DeWalt 849X rotary. Owned the old Black and Decker Buffmaster before that. I have some experience with rotary, but not sure I qualify as "good" with it..

Have done some minor damage in a few small spots over the years, but I've always enjoyed using the polisher and felt it always improved the appearance of the paint.

Lately, I've used Lake Country pads and various Menzerna polishes/compounds. The DeWalt is powerful, but can get heavy on vertical panels after a while. Seriously considering the new Flex Supa Beast forced rotation orbital.

My question is this: Does the orbital really improve the final finish over the straight rotary?

I keep reading about these holograms left by rotary polishing and I just don't see it after polishing my truck or wife's car.

Love the concept of it being safer and more aggressive than the random orbital polishers. Not being a pro, I figure there must be something to this orbital as all the pros seem to use them along with or instead of rotary machines.

As a professional plumber, I wouldn't hesitate to spend $435 on a tool I used every day. As a guy who just likes detailing and polishing, it's more than double what my DeWalt cost me, so it would be a big investment.

I've also read some don't like the fact that they rotate counter-clockwise. I am used to the clockwise rotation, but not sure that should be a deal breaker or matter at all.