autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Noob seeks advice

Not sure i have the right to post these questions as I an not a detailer by trade.
    But here goes.

I have four cars that I need to support at home, all daily drivers. Honestly I do not have time to detail them as I should.
    My plan is to apply 1 coat per year of a good past wax (Collinite 845 perhaps?), Wash monthly, and every three months use a good spray wax.

I have been doing this for some time and am mostly happy with the results. But I would like suggestions on the spray wax - what would you suggest?

Also the two biggest issues I find is water spotting on the glass immediately after washing, is there a soap wash that really does not spot or streak?
    And the other is break dust. What works best to spray and rinse the brakes dust on the rims.

Appreciate your help and responses.
    -Eds

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Noob seeks advice

Just kicking things off for you:

You have every right to ask these questions here, as a person who cares about their car and keeping it in decent shape.

If possible, 2-3 applications per year of a good wax or sealant like 845 would be more beneficial. There’s no doubt it degrades away at 4-6 months.

Regarding wash and spray wax: when you wash every mo th, use the spray wax of choice as a drying aid, that is spray it onto each panel as you dry. This will add protection and make drying easier and eliminate your water spots on the windshield... as you dry. I recommend Optimum Car Wax, Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer, or Duragloss Aquawax. There are a ton more good ones to choose from if you want more choices.