autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Boat detailing information needed.

Boat detailing information needed.

Mike Phillips I have been compounding and detailing this boat for the last 5 years. Its a 2008 Regal 5260.

I have been using some 3m products. During its time in the boat yard when its out of the water the side hulls get compound and detailed. The Port side of the boat takes a lot of sun during the day. After about 4 weeks leaving the yard the Port side "Sun Side" the oxidation starts to come back.

We have salt water in are area so after the boat returns form a trip the boat is fogged with a water cannon and fresh water washed down.

The picture shows the boat the day it was returned to the water. The detail starts with 3M super duty compound. Then medium duty,then light duty,then Finess it glaze and finished with 2 good coats of collinte 845 wax.

I use wool pads with a Dewalt variable speed rotary buffer. What i am looking for is the gloss to stay on the port side longer with out the oxidation coming back so soon.

My concern is that i may compound the gel coat to far and remove it.

That did happen to the first boat owner and the top black panels had to be painted with Awl grip marine paint.

The rest of the boat stays pretty good all year with only washing it down.

Thanks for help

:)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Boat detailing information needed.-6750310_20180628055118716_1_xlarge-980x652-jpg  

Mike Phillips

Re: Boat detailing information needed.

Hi Mark,

Thanks for joining the forum and asking your boat detailing questions.

I've been in the garage shooting a video