autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Tuxedo Black F150 - Need help removing micro-marring

Tuxedo Black F150 - Need help removing micro-marring

Hi. Thx for the add! Newbie here.

I recently trail rashed both sides of my new to me F150.

I purchased a Chemical Bros kit complete with Torqx DA polisher, pads, and v line compounds and polishes.

I successfully used the V32 compound and orange hex logic foam pad to remove the rash and then used V36 cutting polish and white hex foam pad (unsuccessfully) to remove marring and swirls from the compound.

I was under the impression that a DA polisher would not cause marring??

I did use pad conditioner and 5 new pads per coat along with CB IPA spray when whiping clean.

The truck looked great and the metallic paint really popped but after a few days i noticed the marring once hit with direct sunlight.

I did use cheaper but new micro fiber towels from autozone and was told that that may be the cause...?

Any recommendations on how to proceed from here? Also, i have already applied a ceramic coat of hydro charge to the paint.

Am i stuck with it for now? Does an abrasive polish actually remove marring, or primarily fill it in temporarily?

Should I try to go back over with V36 and the orange pad?

Thanks!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Tuxedo black F150 marring removal

IMO CG makes the worst compounds and polish. Look into Griots, 3D or Menzerna.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome

Post Thanks / Like

Ive seen some good/bad reviews. Have you used CG b4? What was your experience?

Post Thanks / Like

Optimum Hyper Polish

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    '03 Corvette Z06

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by Mikem3574 View Post