autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

White spots on paint?

Hi

Long-time reader first time poster!

I posted this in another forum but thought I'd test the waters here as well.

I am new to detailing and recently bought a brand new phantom black car. I made sure the dealer didn’t touch it and then I washed it, clayed it, Mequiar's Ultimate Polish, Mequiar's Quick Wax and then over a week I applied two coast of their Hybrid Ceramic Wax.

On my second wash (first coat of HCW, after full detail) I noticed some white dots on various parts of the paint work. The below pic is where they are grouped the most but they are all over the car - hood, doors etc. They appeared rough so the first thing I did was clay them. They smoothed out but are still there in appearance. The ones I didn’t clay by comparison are still pretty rough. So somehow whatever these are, they are both below and above the surface.

I am almost certain they weren't there before the full detail and after the first wash. Any ideas what these could be and how I could remove them?

I am thinking maybe they are small divots filled in with polish. Just doesn't make sense that a brand new car would have this many chips in the paint work already and some are in odd locations that aren't usually prone to chips.

I've ordered some Langka for a different issue - should I try rub some of this on and see what happens?

The pic is of 3 white dots after i clayed and buffed extensively with UQD and QD. The non circled white dots are just wind particles and not stuck on the paint.

Thanks in advance.

Mike Phillips

Re: White spots on paint?

Did you try to simply pick them off with your fingernail?