autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Being more efficient during a detail

I’ll start off by saying I’m by no means a pro detailer. I’ve been detailing for about 12 years or so, but never for profit, usually just my vehicles, relatives, etc. I recently detailed a co-worker’s vehicle, and he compensated me for the job, he also suggested I make this into a part time gig, which I have begun to do. My last detail was a Mazda 3. I follow all the tips from pro detailers (Mike Phillips, AmmoNYC, etc.)

On the Mazda, I did an exterior wash, bug removal (some nasty stuck on bugs), clay, iron X, then Blackfire 1-step. The interior was already pretty clean so I did a simple vacuum, wipe down of door jams, windows...and dressed exterior and interior trim/tires/etc.

Here’s the problem I’m running into: this was a one stage machine polish (Blackfire 1-step)... the car, outside of a lot of bug buildup, wasn’t too bad... but it took me nearly 12 hours from start to finish...

So here’s my question:
    What are some tips/suggestions to speed up the process, while not sacrificing quality?

A few things I noticed that ate up time:
    - I need more pads, cleaning pads every panel takes time

-I spent a lot of time looking for certain tools that I put down somewhere, suppose I could be a bit more organized

-I’m using a Porter Cable 7424 with lake country thin pads. It works very well...IF I take my time. I’m interested in a Flex 3401...the cost doesn’t bother me if it speeds the process up.

Any other suggestions? Even small steps I should take? An extra minute here and there really adds up after a while.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like