autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Best consumer coating for UV protection

I'm buying a new 2022 MX5 RF Mazda with beautiful red paint, that I hear is delicate, and I want to put a coating on it. I have some experience with DA polishing and general detailing but nothing on a professional level. I've been looking at YouTube videos and there seems to be a lot of hype and salesmanship but not a lot of real reviews. I have heard the Meg's Hybrid Coating is pretty good but nothing on its UV protection. Whatever coating I get it has to go on over Xpel PPF. I live near Tucson, AZ so its sunny year round and my job parking lot is not covered and it's a dirt lot so the car is filthy an hour after I park there so I need good protection. Do any of you have any recommendations?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Best consumer coating for UV protection

I used CarPro Skin on my gf's Xpel. I'm not sure about it's UV protection though.

I would have also used Optimum Gloss Coat. I think that one has UV protection but I'm not 100% on that.

My gf's parents live in Green Valley, and she wants me to send her Dad an Optimum kit of ONR and Car Wax for the UV inhibitors in the Car Wax - because of how intense the sun is down there.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tarheelalum View Post
    my job parking lot is not covered and it's a dirt lot so the car is filthy an hour after I park there so I need good protection. Do any of you have any recommendations?
    Find a new job with asphalt parking. Seriously, your vehicle will need to be blown off with a cordless blower every evening.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by John U View Post