autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Brand New Black Car

I am sooooooooooooooooo glad I found this website ... but now I am more confused than I ever was !!!!

I am a complete newbie and must confess upfront that as a kid, I surprised my dad by washing his car with dish soap and brillo pads - true story !

I know not to use those two again, but I still need some quick advice.

I just bought my 1st ever brand new car ... a 2017 black Ford Escape !!!

Can you please tell me what are the first few things I should do? I'm thinking I first need to wash it - what brand of soap do you recommend?

What brand of towels should I use? What brand of cleaning mitt?

I did just buy a clay kit and so I will read up on when to use it and how to use it.

I just get confused between wax, polish and sealant and the order of it all.

Any advice/help would be GREATLY appreciated !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Brand New Black Car

Welcome, funny enough I got a brand new 2017 escape in shadow black in may 2017.

Really any of the tools sold on autogeek are good. I like the meguiars microfiber mitts, theyve always worked for me. I prefer to go elsewhere for towels, just preference.

Definitely clay the car. If you have the money and the want Id suggest a dual action polisher as well. It is worth the money in the long run. Even if you don't go crazy show car perfect on the paint the polisher makes basic polishing much easier and way more effective than by hand. Look at the griots garage 6in polisher for this.

Soaps really any are fine, depends if you want one with wax or gloss enhancers or just a pure shampoo.