autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New car, new to detailing- need advice

Just purchased a new 2017 Cruze in Tungsten metalic, and want to keep it in great shape. It is a daily driver, but that doesn't mean I don't want to take the time and effort to keep it looking new. I'm new to detailing, but not new to maintaining a car. Since this is my first new car, I want to do things right. I have some detailing materials, and an understanding of the process, but am in search of some guidance. Up to this time, I've done everything by hand, and am about to purchase a DA. either the PC 7424xp or the Griot's 6" with pads. I also use Poorboy's products, currently have their wash, Blackhole, EP sealnt, and liquid Natty's Blue. Also MF towles and clay bar and clay sponge.

My biggest question is the selection of pads to purchase, and which DA. Finish on the car is excellent, but I realize over time and through driving etc that will change. What pads would you recommend to start with, and are there other products you would recommend to care for the finish above the Poorboy's?The car does get washed weekly, and I plan on a full detail monthly as the car is always outside. Thanks for your time.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: New car, new to detailing- need advice

Looking at purchasing a new car. Just curious, did anyone ever ask the dealer not to wax the car before you pick it up as I would like to detail it myself. What would be a recommended process - Pinnacle cleansing lotion then a coat of liquid souvran wax?

Post Thanks / Like