autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

1977 Lincoln, stored in a cat-infested garage for 22 years, please help with this project!

Hi Mike!

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I am a total novice at detailing, so please excuse the elementary questions. I am in the process of acquiring a 1977 Lincoln (pictures below). It has been in storage since 1995, in a garage that was infested with stray cats. The cats seemed to have walked and slept on this car for the past 22 years.

I would like to bring this car back to life, but my limited knowledge makes this task daunting.

I read your article on Meguairs #7 glaze, so that product is now on my list.

To complete this project, I have bought,

a Porter Cable DA Polisher,
    Meguiars cutting and polishing disks,
    Hydrofoam finishing pads,
    Lexol Leather Cleaner and Conditioner,
    303 Vinyl cleaner and Protectant,
    as well as Meguiars gold class Car Wash.

My question is: did I make appropriate product choices?

Are there any products that I am missing? I read that you use the same polish on the chrome as you do the paint. Would this process suffice for long-neglected chrome?

Are there any other products that you may recommend to complete this job?

Aside from steam, is there a method by which to clean and condition the miles of leather in this car?

Should I leave this job to a professional?

If so, can you recommend one in the New York City area? T

he rear bumper of the car was installed after these photos were taken.

1977 Lincoln, stored in a cat-infested garage for 22 years, please help with this project!-003-jpg