autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Ceramic Coating Questions

I am planning on detailing my Audi S3 and Dodge Durango and figured it would be a great time saver if instead of applying Sealant and Wax I can skip those steps and apply something like a Wolfgang Uber Ceramic Coating to the wheels, trim, glass, and paint. I am a beginner and heard this product works well. My S3 is new and my Durango's 2 years old. The Durango will need some compounding to get swirls and scratches out. The s3 will need very minor swirl correction induced by shipment to the dealer.

Now the way I understand it you want to make sure the surface is complete clean of oils and fillers prior to applying the sealant. Some Polishes use oils to fill in the swirl marks. When wiping the car down IPA mix or using the pre seal cleaner in the Uber coating kit which is necessary to ensure nothing is on the pain to prevent adhesion, it could expose the swirls again as that oil filler is wiped away.. Also some polishes also contain sealer which again is bad for the coating as it would prohibit the coating from adhering to the paint. I used this chart to reference what polishes contain sealers/fillers http://www.autopiaforums.com/Todd-He...lish-chart.jpg

What do you recommend as a finishing polish prior to coating the car and also a good compound to buff scratches out of the Durango? I was going to use Black light to do the polishing but I just realized that is also a sealant. Now I am thinking maybe Megs M105 for compound and M205 for Polish? Not sure if the M205 will finish enough before applying the WG coating?