PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Canada, Ontario !

LOL
03-19-2016, 01:03 AM
Hello everyone, I am brand new to the Autogeek community! I'm 24 years old and have been stepping up my detailing game a bit the last couple years but I still have a lot too learn. I'm great with the basics but I am just starting to look into the whole wax and polish and compound type of deal. I also read some information on wet sanding but I won't be going there anytime soon, although I did attempt to restore some headlights in the past with this method.

Here is a picture of my car, I won't be really driving it until July because I carpool to work so I have plenty of time to putz around on her.
http://i63.tinypic.com/11j9r7n.jpg

It's a 2007 Z4 3.0i. Jet black in colour.. I did a few little things so far. I used a claybar on the hood to make her silky smooth and applied a meguires compound/polish and meguires black wax as well. This was just done on the hood as I just have the meguires little buffing bit that attaches to a drill.

Anyhow i'm getting there, i've got quiet a few products in the garage too, open to suggestions on good products to get for certain things as well. I just picked up the Sonax wheel cleaner as I have been taken the wheels off the car and giving them a full clean in and out, claybar, and topping the rims off with chemical guys wheel guard, etc.

As you can see i'm definitely having fun it's a great hobby! If anyone has any helpful information on a good polisher to purchase that would be great, possibly a 300 dollar limit if possible, and what type of pads I should get, products, etc?? The paint is in good condition I think but of course it has swirl marks and this and that, but even from just doing the procedure I mentioned on the hood with what I had it made a great difference and helped with the swirls, so i'm excited at what I can really learn.

Thanks! :cruisin:

Cabrio
03-19-2016, 07:02 AM