PDA

View Full Version : n00b - Proper application of polish compound?

Pages : [1] 2

IslaTurbine
03-04-2016, 08:51 PM
So I'm new to the orbital polishing world. I'm using Lake Country 5" Orange and White pads along with Griot's 1, 2, and 3 polishes. My orbital is the Harbor Freight DA polisher with the grease and backing plate mods.

My question is simple (I think): When applying my polish, how long do I go back and forth the the cross-hatch pattern? What I mean is, how do you know when the application is done and you can wipe the residue off with a microfiber towel and some detail spray.

I don't know if I'm overthinking this, but I felt like the Griot's was difficult to remove with a simple wipe of a towel after application with the DA. Even with detail spray applied to the towel and paint, it still took a fair amount of effort to remove.

Should the polish be applied until it nearly "disappears" from the paint?

Thanks.

jamesboyy
03-04-2016, 10:59 PM
Go three to four passes in each direction then buff off residue and inspect your work and if you feel more is needed than do the process over, though your experience with griots due to the fact the product was not broken down enough or it was too much product lastly try folding your microfiber in fours and sit it upon you buffed out area twist then slow bite/work the towel outward till area is buffed then flip and gently wipe...just a few ideas

Setec Astronomy
03-04-2016, 11:04 PM
Use a lot less product than you think you should use--probably the most common novice mistake, using too much product.

custmsprty
03-04-2016, 11:06 PM
I do 5-6 section passes and work the product until it breaks down.

jamesboyy
03-04-2016, 11:07 PM
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/19956-final-wipe-print.html

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/35292-how-prime-foam-pad-when-using-da-polisher.html

Seee if this helps

WRAPT C5Z06
03-05-2016, 04:25 AM