PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Advice on Detail plan

IBAUCLAPlaya
02-25-2016, 05:26 PM
Hi there,
I’m new to register on these forums, but have spent plenty of time researching over the years. I’m planning to detail both of my vehicles this spring: 1997 White Supra garage queen and 2012 White Civic daily driver.

The Supra is an Arizona vehicle and the paint is in ok condition for its age, albeit a bit thin in some spots to the eye. Also it has some light scratches/swirls so I need to do some correction. I’ve owned the car for about 3 years, it sits in the garage most of the time and only driven on nice sunny days. Since purchasing, I’ve only clayed and applied Collinite 845. I only plan to detail this annually since it is rarely driven. Only sees about 2000 miles/yr of dry sunny days.

The Civic is driven 25k miles/yr and goes through Ohio Winters. Durability is far more important here vs. looks & shine. I only plan to detail this 2x per year, Spring & Fall. I need something that is strong enough to last through 6-month Ohio winter.
Here is what I’ve laid out thus far.

BOTH CARS PREP

Wash with Dawn Dish soap & dry
Iron X on dry car, wipe down affected areas using wet micro fiber, pressure rinse, dry.
Nanoskin fine sponge with nanoskin glide, dry
Blackfire SRC Finishing Polish with Lake County White CCS pad on speed 5. Buff off w/ microfiber. If the white pad doesn’t work to fix scratches/swirls, I’ll try pink for more cutting
Wipe down with Blackfire Crystal coat paint prep
Blackfire Gloss Enhancing Polish with Lake County Grey CCS pad on speed 4. Buff off w/ microfiber
Wipe down with Blackfire Crystal coat paint prep

SUPRA LSP

Blackfire Wet Diamond All Finish Paint Protection with Lake County Blue CCS pad on speed 3.5. Buff off w/ microfiber.
Let cure 8 hours
Blackfire Midnight Sun Ivory Carnauba paste wax with hand foam applicator. Wipe on, wipe off with microfiber before dries.

CIVIC LSP