PDA

View Full Version : want to get a 7424XP for 2 cars

caunyd
02-12-2016, 09:36 PM
I have 2 cars that I want to make look new. The first is a 2006 Seal Gray Porsche. It has mild, but probably not heavy, swirl marks, and it also has water marks that I haven't been able to get out with various remedies, including claying. So I'm guessing the water marks are pretty etched on. I don't know if this car has been polished before (but I'm guessing no, even though it had a previous owner)

The 2nd car is a new red Jaguar and it has minor/slight swirl marks, that I think were caused by the dealer. I will try to get pictures of both.

I am a complete rookie to polishing/sanding/detailing, but I would like to get a Porter Cable 7424XP to get rid of these swirl and water marks.

1/ What Backing plates, and foam pads would you recommend?
2/ Which polishes/abrasives would you recommend for this job?

PandaSauce
02-12-2016, 10:21 PM
I've had really good success so far with my CG 6" backing plate and 6.5" Hex Logic pads.

HD Speed and CG V36 and V38 have all been great for polishing. You might not need the V36 if everything that you're doing is pretty light, and you'll probably only need Speed or V38 for a polish.

All that being said, I am pretty new to using a quality machine. I've hand applied various products for 13 or so years and have used some crappy buffers, so I feel like I know what I'm looking for as far as results, and am happy with my results so far, but others that are more experienced might have better advice on products.

roguerobot
02-12-2016, 10:26 PM
Lots of suggestions, here is what I did. I bought the PC 7424XP value pack, which came with an orange flat pad, white flat pad, a blue pad, and two bonus red pads. I bought Mequirs Ultimate Compound (orange pad), Ultimate Polish (white pad) and Ultimate Wax (red pad). Later I got some All in One: Klasse which I use with the blue pad.