PDA

View Full Version : Wax is annoying me...

Pages : [1] 2

P1et
10-04-2007, 08:46 AM
So as you all know, I have a solid black truck. I have been putting wax on it for a few months, but every time I do it annoys me.

Reason is, even if I go really thin, apply it by hand or machine, and the direct sunlight hits it, you can see where I waxed it. It's like I cannot get it off all the way! And it piiiiiiiiiiisses me off!!!

Does anyone have any tips for me?

makdaddy626
10-04-2007, 08:55 AM
What wax are you using?

Pauly6401
10-04-2007, 09:17 AM
Does running over the truck with a QD right after you wax it help any? That might kind of smooth it all out.

Jimmie
10-04-2007, 09:19 AM
Does running over the truck with a QD right after you wax it help any? That might kind of smooth it all out.

:iagree:first thing that I thought too.

dengood1
10-04-2007, 09:23 AM
Try using a MF bonnet with the PC on 5-6 or simply lay out microfiber down on your hood, center a polishing pad on the microfiber towel, then buff the truck at speed 5 with the PC. Trust me, you will be pleased. You can also buy MF bonnets to put on the pad (some recommend the wool pad for softness), then buff at 5-6 with PC. Let me know if this works for you:)

A1monky
10-04-2007, 09:25 AM

I had the same problem w/ my black car. Until I started doing this :whs:

ScottB
10-04-2007, 09:25 AM
direct sunlight a culprit ??

P1et
10-04-2007, 09:53 AM
I'm glad to hear that others have seen the same issues! It's one I don't have when using sealants, just waxes.

I do have the little bonnets (AG was kind enough to let me win some!) and I might want to try them.

For now though, I'll give the QD a try. When I did my wife's Explorer last weekend, I went over the truck with AW after waxing it with P21S.

I see a lot of detailers using "final wipe down" when they're done waxing and I think that's what I might be missing.

Thanks!

trhland
10-04-2007, 10:38 AM