PDA

View Full Version : White truck getting detail for first time

TurntAudio
01-26-2016, 01:18 PM
I am relatively new to auto detailing, but my 2001 Ford Explorer sport trac (white) has never had a proper hand-wash, claying, or proper detail. I started researching the best products to wash/detail myself once I realized using the drive-through car wash was only damaging the paint on my truck. For me this truck is a project... it has alot of money and work put into it so I want to restore/refresh the factory paint as much as possible.

From what I understand, there is a limited amount of "reflection" that can be achieved when working with white paints...unlike black and other color paints. So since this is a 15 year old truck that I use off-road sometimes, and the results can only be "so good", I'm not sure exactly how much effort I should put into detailing it. I want to know if my plan for detailing is all this truck needs, and anything else is not really necessary... Or if I should take more steps and buy more products.

Due to limited time I have not been able to do this all in the same day...I started the other day by hand washing with a microfiber wash mit and a good Maguier's car wash soap. The next day I started claying, and I am still in that process. I still see swirls in the paint when I hold a light up to it. I will use a synthetic sealant from Maguier's after the clay bars, then I guess it's done?

Is it a big deal to space this job out over a few days? Should I hand wash again before I continue claying...or just wiping it down with detail spray good enough? I am waiting for the sealant to arrive in the mail, so should I hold off on the rest of the claying until I can apply the sealant immediately after?

Paul A.
01-26-2016, 01:40 PM
First off, welcome to AutoGeek Online!