PDA

View Full Version : Advice on polisher/pad combo?

Pages : [1] 2

mitchoi
01-13-2016, 12:04 PM
Hello, everyone.

I'm a newbie to detailing but I would like to get a DA polisher and some pads, I'm in the Philippines so not much choice here and the only option is to have it shipped here.

I'm looking to get the Griot's Garage 6 and maybe 3 orange and 3 white pads, is it enough and is it the right combo? Any suggestions? Feed back please

LSNAutoDetailing
01-13-2016, 12:27 PM
Hi and welcome to AGO!

First off, you should go to the How To section and review the many subjects and video offerings on "how to's".
Auto Detailing Facts, auto detailing Tips, How to detailing Guides, how to polish, how to wax, DIY detailing, do it yourself guides (http://www.autogeek.net/detailingtips.html)

The Griot's Garage 6 would be an excellent choice as would be the Porta Cable 7424 XP. Both are serious tools that can do a proper job.

As far as how many pads? You may want to review this thread.
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-mike-phillips-your-detailing-questions/88109-how-many-pads-do-i-need-buff-out-my-car.html

Hope this helps!

mitchoi
01-13-2016, 12:35 PM
Thanks!

As much as I wanted to get a lot of pads, I'm a little bit budget constrained and customs here are a pain, I've heard people being charged commercial fees for a dozen items, probably the most I can get are 8 pads, 1 5" backing plate and the polisher.

PS: I read the link about number of pads, would just like to clarify if my plan will work.
Can I get away with just having the orange pads for now, no yellow? I'm thinking getting 3 orange for correction, 3 white for polishing, 2 black for waxing? Or should it be 2 blue finessing pads instead of black?

I'll upload a picture of the car I plan on working on when I get home, it's a 2008 silver Toyota Vios, and I don't think it needs much correction, it's probably hard to spot any swirls with a flashlight on a silver paint, much less to my untrained eye.

Mantilgh