PDA

View Full Version : Meg's D151 on top of D300?

cameronthmpsn
01-07-2016, 08:23 PM
I'm new to the detailing business and am still trying to gather information to make the right decisions before investing my bank account into products. I'll be working in a lifted F250 in a couple of days that's used as a daily driver, taken through car washes, the whole gambit of abuse. I've used D151 with a PC and a white hex logic pad a handful of times and had pretty good success with it.

My question is, if I'm looking for a little more cutting ability and want to switch over to D300 and a microfiber cutting disc, should I also get the D301 as the second step or can I use the D151? I would also be applying a sealant on top since I've read that D151 does not last too terribly long.

Any suggestions or feedback is welcome before I buy anything.

AGOatemywallet
01-07-2016, 08:35 PM
If you are finishing with a Sealant, use M205 after D300, but only if there is hazing left from the MF pad. You may be able to go straight from D300 to Sealant.

If there is hazing, I personally would use M205 on a foam finishing pad; instead of D151.

Eldorado2k
01-07-2016, 08:42 PM
D301 and D151 don't last too long. If it looks lsp ready after the D300 you could go straight to sealant. But personally I'd go M205 then sealant.

I don't see the benefit of using an inferior layer of protection under a sealant. Not to mention [depending on what product you use] it could cause bonding issues.

FUNX650
01-07-2016, 10:53 PM
My question is, if I'm looking for a little more cutting ability and want to switch over to D300 and a microfiber cutting disc,

should I also get the D301 as the second step

IMO:
•Yes!
-If an AIO is going to be used as a second
step after D300...Makes sense to use D301:
-Afterall...D301 is part and parcel of
Meguiar's DA Microfiber System.

-The Finishing Wax component of this system
contains mild abasives (for any necessary
"fine tuning"...from using D300); and: