PDA

View Full Version : Am I expecting too much? No difference seen.

11Frontier
12-27-2015, 02:29 PM
HI Guy's,

I’ve been detailing my truck for a couple of years now and I’m happy with how it looks. I know there are swirls there but I rarely see them because it is Silver. And since I’ve been neglecting my 7424XP for far too long I thought I would put it to good use when my youngest got discharged from the Marine Corps and was coming to visit for a while before heading off to school. His car has been sitting on an airbase for the past couple of years and has only had a couple of washes. It’s a dark blue gray metal flake 2013 Nissan Juke which had a coating of California smog/desert dust/Jet Fuel and a cross country trip back home on it.

But after attempting to do some correction I saw no difference in how the hood looked - my test spot.

I did the usual two bucket wash and also did a medium clay. Paint still felt rough though. Maybe I should have clayed again? But I did have a little bit of a time limit.

Attempted to do an AIO and then a LSP on top. Test spot on the left side of the hood.

First: I used some left over XMT 360. I was not happy with it on my truck so I had some left over.
Saw/felt no difference.

Second: I tried some WG Uber AIO that I bought a while back. Same area that I used the XMT 360 on.
Saw/felt no difference. As an LSP I used WG Finishing Glaze 3.0

Third: I tried some Blackfire Total Polish & Seal AIO on the RIGHT side of the hood next to the Uber AIO.
No LSP.

Don’t see any difference in how it looks or how it feels or between the two?

** Used Orange Lake Country flat pads for each application. I do not have anything more aggressive but I did not think I needed more aggressive?

So what am I doing wrong or am I expecting too much after seeing the results that other people post here?