PDA

View Full Version : How to remove existing wax?

Pages : [1] 2

gulfcoaster
12-24-2015, 02:41 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to detailing and have not yet found info on how and whether I need to strip the existing wax off before doing a paint correction. I bought the following products:

1. DA polisher (Harbor Freight with 6" flexible backing plate)
2. Meguiars Ultimate Compound
3. 3" Lake Country DA Flexible Backing Plate
4. 3 1/4" Lake Country Ultra-Fiber DA microfiber pads
5. 5 1/4" Lake Country Ultra-Fiber DA Microfiber pads (I think I ordered the wrong size here for the 6" backing plate)

I guess I needed to order pads slightly larger than the backing plate, right?

And when using a cutting agent like Meg UC, do I need to remove the existing wax first or will the UC remove the wax simultaneously? If I need to remove it first, what are the options and recommendations?

Similarly, will using UC mean I do not need to use a clay bar beforehand?

--If it's not obvious, I'm a bit overwhelmed by all of the product options out there!

Thanks for the guidance on these questions. :-)

FocusSTguy
12-24-2015, 03:06 PM
I would order a 5" backing plate to go with your 5 1/4" pads. I prefer using 5" pads with a DA. Easier to work with.

UC will remove the wax, but at minimum you should wash and clay first. You may want to consider an Iron X type product depending on the paint condition. How old is the car? What is the current condition of the paint?

The cleaner the paint is prior to polishing the better your results will be. Yes, the UC will remove the contaminants on the paint but guess where they end up, on the pad, so anything it picks up has the potential to unnecessarily gum up the pad and potentially scratch the paint you are trying to correct.

Eldorado2k
12-24-2015, 03:14 PM