PDA

View Full Version : High humidity

tone357
12-22-2015, 09:38 PM
Is it advisable to polish and wax when there is 80-95% humidity?

custmsprty
12-22-2015, 09:44 PM
Is it advisable to polish and wax when there is 80-95% humidity?

I do it all the time in Florida, no way to get around it.

GSKR
12-22-2015, 09:58 PM
Ditto just make sure your hydrated.

tone357
12-22-2015, 10:06 PM
What if it's 100% humidity. Raining, but of course in a garage?

custmsprty
12-22-2015, 10:13 PM

No issues, I speak from experience down here in Fla.

Paul A.
12-22-2015, 10:15 PM
I'll add on to custmsprty's comments, it's our way of life down here in west central FL. No issues other than waiting for sealants to set up longer.

GSKR
12-22-2015, 10:19 PM
I do this for a living,so the summer months in south fla are brutal so I prepare everyday for the conditions such as a lot of vitamin water and 6 tee shirts a day.If you are not prepared for that humidity especially in a garage you will start to vomit very dangerous.I will usually pass on working in the garage and go back when it's not raining.

custmsprty
12-22-2015, 10:29 PM
I'll add on to custmsprty's comments, it's our way of life down here in west central FL. No issues other than waiting for sealants to set up longer.

Yeah, I put a coat of CG Celeste D on my ride Saturday when it was cool out and it dried so fast, I wasn't used to that!

Paul A.
12-23-2015, 08:28 AM
Yes, isn't it nice to get some winter days down here when the humidity drops and you don't use sweat to rework the polish on that section?

Tone357, i have never experienced any adverse affects of compounding or polishing in high humidity. Like i said, though, it may take a little longer for waxes or sealants to set up before wipe off. I don't ever work in full sun either...even "sun friendly" products.

LSNAutoDetailing
12-23-2015, 09:43 AM
An AC in the garage does a nice job at keeping the humidity lower... But no issues, except as others have stated; stay hydrated.