PDA

View Full Version : detail how to

Pages : [1] 2

texasbrown1954
09-27-2007, 04:27 PM
I'm new to the whole detailing thing I have a silver 00 audi a4 i bought new I've never waxed it so I went out and bought the mothers clay bar system about a week ago and used the supplied cleaner wax, it looks really good, but what would you guys recommend for me to do, to really bring out and help the paint. Thanks Jason

dontsleeponit
09-27-2007, 04:37 PM
If you would like to jump in head first, like alot of people do once they see how they're car can look, your going to want to purchase a polisher kit like the Porter Cable kits or the UDM Kits. You have plenty of reading and forum browsing to do if this is what you want to do, but the outcome will be excellent with a little work.

If you want to keep it simple and do what you can by hand, check out the Klasse polish products, or Duragloss polish (theres others too). You made a good move with the claying, im sure it needed it if it was the first time. Follow this up with the polish (machine or hand) of choice. And then you want to protect with your choice of either sealant or wax. Sealants are more durable and can look great, waxes have excellent looks but are less durable, but like anything products are different and they all have their own characteristics, you must read around alot to choose whats right for you.

And then theres cleaners for wheels, polishes for metal, dressings for trim and plastic, the list goes on and on.

Its a pretty broad question you ask, but everything you need to know about maintaining your car is at your fingertips on this forum.

Good luck and welcome.

budman3
09-27-2007, 04:39 PM
Welcome to the site...

Your question has an unlimited amount of answers ...

This is a basic process you should keep in mind.

Wash
Clay
Polish
Protect (wax or sealant ... or both)