PDA

View Full Version : My detailing plan of attack

MickeyB
11-21-2015, 03:49 PM
Hi all, as stated in previous threads, I'm new to the world of proper detailing, and keen to develop my skills and knowledge. Having done a lot of recent trading and research, I'm now ready to delve into the dark science, and give it a red hot go. As such, I have formulated a plan that I feel is logical and hopefully safe (baby steps) to start learning the techniques and skills I need. Please feel free to comment or correct me if I'm on the wrong track!

My garage consists of 3 cars: my wife's Toyota Caldina that I imported for her from Japan:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/21/3abbf39782b8ad824925e14dfae77762.jpg

My new (to me) daily driven Skoda Octavia:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/21/7a1a16ed57bce4ce4fda9a390ca9f59f.jpg

And my financial black hole/third child (heavily modified) Nissan Stagea "weekend" car:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/21/0c42315a15fcb2d5a7a53f4a1d806598.jpg

Up to this point, I've always been pretty fussy with all my cars, but have been content to give them a (what I thought was thorough until joining these forums) wash, and leave it at that, with the Stagea getting a professional detail once or twice per year. All are parked in either garage or carport at home, and my daily driver cops all the elements at work: absolutely no undercover parking available.

My plan of attack, as far as teaching myself how to correctly detail is this (please let me know if I'm on the right track):

1) basic cleaning- I already have some good quality products in my Arsenal, but I need to start applying them better.
I've purchased a Megs lambs wool wash mitt to replace my old and tired MF sponge, but it would appear I'll need at least one more for cleaning wheels/lower body panels.
This is the area I'm most comfortable experimenting with on all cars.