PDA

View Full Version : Getting new car...need advice.

Pages : [1] 2

Bonesteel
11-06-2015, 08:54 PM
I have a 2016 Crystal Black Silica Subaru WRX coming in the news couple of weeks. I'm going to tell the dealer (out of state) not to bother washing it, for obvious reasons, but it's also going to be shipped to me, another 1300 miles from the dealer. Obviously, I can't really know exactly what will be needed, but I'm hoping I won't have to do any major correction.

I'm pretty new to machine polishing, and I recently bought the PC 7424XP. I used it on my '09 Scion xB that had been pretty neglected. I figure the paint is probably very similar in thickness and hardness. I used an orange 5.5" CG Hex Logic pad (cleaned and dried a couple times over 2 days) and mostly an old bottle of 3M Perfect It Swirl Mark Remover. I also tried the Meguiars Ultimate Compound in some tough spots...it definitely wasn't as rough as I was expecting. I had used the 3M Rubbing Compound by hand in the past, and it had a lot more cut.

In preparation for the WRX, I bought a bottle of Wolfgang Finishing Glaze. I'm pretty sure that will do the trick, but if not, I can use the Meguiars Ultimate Compound.

The LSP will be Blackfire Crystal Coat.

I need to order pads. Considering new car, WGFG and 7424xp, what would you guys recommend. I'm thinking 5.5" Lake Country Flats...white and black. Would the WGFG be better suited for white or black? Should I pick up a few orange in case I have to use the Meguiars compound or would white be ok?

GSKR
11-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Wait till you see the car first then order pads.

custmsprty
11-06-2015, 09:02 PM
Black is a waste of time, that's for LSP's. Get 3 orange and 3 white and you'll be good to go for a little while.

builthatch
11-06-2015, 09:06 PM