PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshooting multiple problems

bunnywafer
11-05-2015, 06:23 PM
Hi all,

I'm not a complete novice to detailing, but I'm new (only done about 3 jobs so far - just on my own personal cars). I wanted to winterize my car today but I ran into some problems with the prep work, so I've decided to hold off on waxing until I get some answers.

Basic info:

Car: 2012 Honda Fit (daily driver)

Products: Wolfgang Auto Bathe, CG Clay Luber, clay bar, Nanoskin sponge, Collinite 845, WG Deep Gloss Paint Sealant, WG Detailer, other random samples, tire cleaning/gloss

Limitations: No garage, cold weather coming soon, I drive through an active construction zone both ways during my commute (unavoidable), low-to-medium pressure hose.

Problems: Issues with Nanoskin, clay bar residue, rainbow swirls?, paint chips, tar

The details:

So first I washed the car. I use two buckets, a sea sponge, and WG Auto Bathe. No issues with washing.

Next I tried to use the Nanoskin sponge, which I have used before. Used CG Clay Luber. I noticed when I took it out that the surface was kind of sticky. I tried using it anyway, but it left residue (I guess rubber? Not sure exactly what the surface of this thing is). The surface appears to be deteriorating and I've only used it once before. Like I said it's sticky, part of it is peeling away from the sponge, and when I rinsed it with water, the surface started sticking to itself.

Hopped on here and read some people were having problems with CG Clay Luber and the Nanoskin products. Read I could use clay to remove the residue the Nanoskin left behind.