PDA

View Full Version : Years of auto car wash...

NguyenAdam
10-26-2015, 07:58 PM
So I'm getting ready to detail my girlfriends car. (Keep in mind that I'm a beginner) Its a 2009 TSX in Grigio Metallic. Shes brought it through automatic car washes for the entire life of the car. Paint is in very rough condition. What should I be in for when approaching the car?

-Meguiars clay
-Meguiars Ultimate Compound
-Meguiars Ultimate Polish
-Menzerna Powerlock
-?

Any other input is appreciated. :xyxthumbs:

7PaintGuns
10-26-2015, 08:20 PM
By hand or machine?

NguyenAdam
10-26-2015, 08:26 PM
Going to compound and polish by machine. Sealant by hand.

7PaintGuns
10-26-2015, 08:40 PM
Could you be more specific with you question?

fly07sti
10-26-2015, 08:55 PM
What machine will you be using and how much experience do you have with it? A full correction on a car can be Very labor intensive, especially when you're just starting out. I recommend taking your time and work on your technique. Make sure to check each section with a light source so you don't go and buff the whole car after your test spot to only find out there's still swirls or hazing.

Heisenberg
10-26-2015, 09:23 PM
I recently did a full correction of my TSX - it's a 2010. I think you've got a good game plan, just make sure to do a test spot. The majority of the defects in my car came out with just M205(which is close to on par with ultimate polish) The paint is very soft.

http://i.imgur.com/pLioc9J.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/TLrhYsa.jpg

dlc95
10-26-2015, 10:35 PM
Check this thread out:

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/50162-how-do-test-spot.html

This is the best place to start.

NguyenAdam
10-26-2015, 11:00 PM