PDA

View Full Version : Best Wax, Sealant or Coating for Protection Durability and Shedding?

Raz5219
09-25-2015, 09:52 PM
I'm a novice detailer and just picked up a Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl Grand Cherokee as a daily driver. I'm going to give it a clay and polish but not sure what to use as a LSP? My priority is durability, protection, and ability to shed dirt and not attract dust. I live in NY so I get a wide range of temperature and weather conditions. I'm not picky about looks such as depth and reflectivity. I believe that most products out there will provide satisfactory results in that department. I'm also not bias on it being a wax, sealant or coating. From my research, I've come across products like FK1000P, Sonax Polymer net shield, Opti-Gloss and Collinite 476S. Can you guys give me your opinion on what you think will be best (whether from my list or otherwise)?

tdekany
09-25-2015, 10:44 PM
Raz, my suggestion would be Optimum Gloss Coat.

Mantilgh
09-25-2015, 10:57 PM
All good choices, and of course there's so many more.

I would say it deapends on:

Now much do you want to spend?

And to a lesser exstent:

Are you going to polish by machine or hand?

Do you enjoy waxing you car, or would you rather do it once and forget about?

In general, a coating will protect the best. A coating with a full machine abrasive and chemical cleaning step should protect better.

GSKR
09-25-2015, 11:16 PM
Glosscoat extreme durability,or collinite fleet wax.

Raz5219
09-25-2015, 11:23 PM
All good choices, and of course there's so many more.

I would say it deapends on:

Now much do you want to spend?

And to a lesser exstent:

Are you going to polish by machine or hand?

Do you enjoy waxing you car, or would you rather do it once and forget about?

In general, a coating will protect the best. A coating with a full machine abrasive and chemical cleaning step should protect better.