PDA

View Full Version : Which DA Polisher to get?

Mike Phillips
09-22-2015, 10:13 AM
Which DA Polisher to get?

I get e-mails, PM's and FB messages all the time with questions that are better asked and then answered on this forum for a host of reason. One reason is more eyeballs see the questions and answers so more people are helped versus one set of eyeballs in an e-mail, PM or FB message.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mike, I am a novice and I am considering purchasing a dual action polisher from auto geek and saw a video where you tested the porter cable and showed how if you pressed down hard on the polisher it would stop turning and, I assume, lessen the chance of burning or damaging the paint finish.

Conversely, the Meguiar’s model advertises they have more torque and if you push down it will keep spinning, even with increased resistance.

So my question to you is do you recommend the Porter over the Meguiar’s model?

Also the porter seems to have a front handle which is off to the side, does this create an imbalance on the spinning pad surface? It would seem that a handle in the front, or on top, would be less likely to create one-sided pressure.

Also, I currently have the Meguiar’s Double Action drill attachment. What improvements would I see by switching to either the Meguiar’s 110 or GT 300 or the Porter Cable 7424. Thank you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi James,

Real quick, lots on my plate today….

As for the Meguiar's drill attachment goes... I used something like this over 20 years ago and it’s just too much work when for a little over $100.00 you can get a real/normal DA Polisher that will get the job done better and faster and serve your for years, maybe decades. That’s just me though.