PDA

View Full Version : Best way to Start?!

Pages : [1] 2

Tony C
09-14-2015, 05:15 PM
I am new to detailing and I just got a used Griot's Garage 6" Gen1 DA. I have read that it has some limitations, but it is still a good place to start for a novice. So, my question to those of you out there with experience is, "where do I start?" As for background, I've used Wolfgang products and like them very much (especially Fuzion). I will initially work on my wife's 2008 Pontiac Vibe with some minor swirls and scratches. This would be my first time using a machine, which I just learned can't be fitted with a 5.5" plate, so I will be working with a 6.5" pad.

1) Am I smarter to start with some less expensive products for swirl removal (or other) and try out different pads? GG pads or LC?

2) Griot's Garage has some All in One products that could give me something to work with. Or should I try multiple stage approach to work on technique.

3) Final question: what are the drawbacks of working with 6.5" pad, and how do you get around common problems associated with this?

Thanks for your feedback. I have not ordered pads or product yet, so I look forward to feedback and advice to help me make some decisions this week while I am on business travel and can't do anything anyway.

banzaitoyota
09-14-2015, 05:52 PM
Find someone with a paint gage and measure your paint.

Be realistic in your expectations

Do test spots.

Do paraphrase Mike, pick what you can afford and use it often.

banzaitoyota
09-14-2015, 05:52 PM
I would.get a 5" backing plate and use smaller.pads

Souldetailer
09-14-2015, 05:55 PM