PDA

View Full Version : BMW Jet Black- Sigh

Pages : [1] 2

big_c
09-09-2015, 11:42 AM
Hi all, I am new to detailing but have been reading up on the forums and appreciate all the knowledge I have gained.

So I have a 2007 BMW Z4 in Jet Black. Production date 03/07. As expected with any 8 year old car, it has pretty noticeable swirl marks in the sun and some light various clearcoat scratches around the car.

My goal is to improve the appearance in sunlight, doesn't need to be concours perfect, but I would like to not notice the swirls on a sunny day.

I've read all the forum posts on this paint and how hard it is to correct, and how easily it scratches. Some people recommended selling the car, setting it on fire, driving off a cliff, etc.

I'd like to get some feedback on my process/materials. I have done a couple panels so far and should finish up this week.

Initial thoughts: it takes absolutely forever with the DA polisher to remove the swirls. I'm spending about 60 seconds on a 12"x12" area to remove the marks and make it look good. Ive tried using the orange pad, slower speeds, and nothing removes the swirls except yellow/M105 and a very slow pace and moderate pressure.

Equipment- Harbor freight DA polisher with 5" backing plate

1. Wash car with dawn (2 bucket method, viking mitt)
2. Clay bar with meguiars kit
3. M105/5.5" LC Foam Yellow pad/DA set to 5-6
4. Remove M105 and repeat (Glass cleaner on microfiber towel)
5. Remove M105 and repeat. (Glass cleaner on microfiber towel)

I haven't gone past this step yet. I'll note here that so far, the M105 has finished very nicely and leaves almost no hazing or swirls. I reapply a few pea sized globs of the M105 once it stops looking wet.

6. M205 with black pad/DA set to 4
7. BF Wet diamond selant on red pad/DA set to 3