PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at swirl removal

MA5177
09-03-2015, 11:06 AM
My daughters boyfriend bought a used jeep, it's a 2007 and the paint had a ton of swirl marks in it. The jeeps is in good condition ,but has some minor dents in the hood, looks like hail or something.

Anyway I offered to polish it for him with my DA and it came out great! First we washed it then clayey it with CG OG clay and lube. Then I polished section by section with DA on speed 6 with orange 5.5 hex logic pads

Used CG VSS and finished it off with Meg's ultimate wax and some ultimate stray wax.

I'm no pro by far, just a noob learning on my own. The results were pretty good, it got rid of almost all the scratches but there are still some deeper ones I don't want to mess with. Here are a couple after pics. I forgot to take before.

JustJesus
09-03-2015, 11:56 AM
... got rid of almost all the scratches but there are still some deeper ones I don't want to mess with.

THIS was good. :xyxthumbs:

Burnt350
09-03-2015, 11:59 AM
Excellent job. It is fun learning.

Kamakaz1961
09-03-2015, 12:13 PM
Wow Very Nice!! Excellent work!! It feels good that you broke your virginity!!...LOL

Just curious what DA did you use?

MA5177
09-03-2015, 12:57 PM
Wow Very Nice!! Excellent work!! It feels good that you broke your virginity!!...LOL

Just curious what DA did you use?

I bought the polisher before I learned of this site and all the great polishers available. It's a harbor freight that I replaced the backing plate to a 5" quality model. It seems to have plenty of power and never lacks rotation even with a good amount of pressure. I may upgrade down the road, but all I really care about is maintaining my 3 cars and maybe an occasional friends so it may fit my needs just fine. Here is another pic that wouldn't load. Thanks !

Kamakaz1961
09-03-2015, 01:06 PM