PDA

View Full Version : Newbie windshield help and advice

Goin2drt
08-14-2015, 06:52 PM
I am a newbie and weekend warrior detailing only my own cars. I have never, ever done any detailing of my windshield. Literally clean with Invisible glass and thats it.

I would like to detail and get my windshield as perfect as possible, but am a little hesitant.

Car only has about 6K miles on it so the windshield is in pretty good shape, no major defects.

If there a link to a good video or process to detail (polish, protect and coat) my windshield?

Product thoughts?
Use DA (Rupes) or just by hand? If so what pads?
Steps to take etc?

Thanks for the help.

irvsmith
08-14-2015, 09:53 PM
This might be a good start.

http://youtu.be/aVUtdlzrktI

irvsmith
08-14-2015, 10:00 PM
And this one as well.

http://youtu.be/q4WwOrkgXlc

DogRescuer
08-15-2015, 07:35 AM
I would
Wash
Clay
Polish with machine and m105
Remove polish
Clean with 2 ww towels
And drive

Goin2drt
08-15-2015, 07:44 AM
That first video was great. I was looking for those steps and I didn't know I needed a specific pad for windows. Told you I was A newbie. I was also wanting once I did the cleaning and polish the top coat to protect. They use RainX in the video. I was thinking of using the CarPro stuff from AGO. Thoughts?

irvsmith
08-15-2015, 11:36 AM
I use rainx but I believe the carpro stuff is more durable.

DaveT435
08-15-2015, 12:50 PM
That first video was great. I was looking for those steps and I didn't know I needed a specific pad for windows. Told you I was A newbie. I was also wanting once I did the cleaning and polish the top coat to protect. They use RainX in the video. I was thinking of using the CarPro stuff from AGO. Thoughts?

The CarPro product is good. If your going to use the actual glass polishing pads make sure you use the CarPro rayon glass pads. Some of the other brands will actually leave small scratches.