PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

petemc
07-11-2015, 05:38 AM
Hi everyone. petemc here. I'm a newbie to the Forum and to the detailing arts and this site and these forums look to be a great source of info. I have no plans to start a business but even a driveway detailer can always use some tips.
Some background: I have 2 SAABs in the driveway; one is 1996 vintage. The other 2000 and, to the best of my knowledge no one has ever "loved the paint"
I'm sure some detailing clay is a good start but what grade should I start with?
Also, I'd appreciate your thoughts on a good polisher / buffer to start with and what pads, etc you find useful. There are SO many products out there!
Anyway, thanks for your time. Looking forward to your comments!
Have a great Saturday!

Pats300zx
07-11-2015, 06:35 AM
Welcome to AGO !!! There are so many polisher and pad options. You could start with something simple like the a Griots Garage PC or step up to the larger throw Rupes or Griots Boss. Definitely take a look at the Lake County Hydro-Tech pads or the new Meguiars low profile pads.

Mike@DedicatedPerfection
07-12-2015, 03:14 AM
Hi, welcome to AutoGeekOnline!

sproketser
07-12-2015, 04:51 AM
Welcome aboard !

Souldetailer
07-12-2015, 09:53 AM
Welcome to a great forum. I really like the diversity you get here, from pro to newbies, and everywhere in between. I believe the best way to find the equipment/products that suit you best it to read, read and then read. Plus you'll pick up some valuable tips in the process. I'm, by no means, am saying don't ask a direct question. I just believe you get a better feel for what's out there by reading a broad spectrum of threads. Good luck an take care.

Peace,

Darrin

petemc
07-13-2015, 08:49 AM