PDA

View Full Version : Help - I screwed up!

Pages : [1] 2 3

MstrJosh
07-09-2015, 10:22 PM
I'm a beginner, and I had purchased a PC7424xp. I used a microfiber cutting pad + M105 on my paint, I then moved to a white pad and M205. Swirls are gone, but my paint is horribly hologramed, and I'm here feeling like an idiot.

What should I do? (Besides hand it over to a pro)

irvsmith
07-09-2015, 10:33 PM
Is this a test spot or did you complete the whole car?

MstrJosh
07-09-2015, 10:36 PM
Test spot about 8 inches by 8 inches.

refreshauto
07-09-2015, 10:39 PM
What kind of car is it. You might have gone to aggressive. Always go least aggressive and work your way up. What other products and pads do you have on hand

MstrJosh
07-09-2015, 10:44 PM
Car is a Volvo 1800, but had been repainted with a moderately hard paint about 30 years ago

I have some orange foam pads, many white ones, and some black ones, all hexlogic. I have m105 and m205, I also have something called P1 compound from Clear finish, along with a matching P2 finish.

Calendyr
07-09-2015, 10:53 PM
Are you trolling us? I really doubt it's possible to put holograms in hard paint using a PC.

If this is not a joke, just re-do the paint correction and take the time to learn how first. I have no idea how you can possibly put holograms in paint using a DA but if you really did you must have done something terribly wrong, those things are super safe.

MstrJosh
07-09-2015, 10:58 PM
Not trolling. Used the machine with about 10lbs of pressure on it at speed 6, and that's what it looked like after an IPA wipe.

Zubair
07-09-2015, 11:00 PM
Try not using an MF pad as your first choice for future corrections. Least aggresive method always first on test spots then slowly work your way up.

dlc95
07-09-2015, 11:02 PM
Can you try some 105 on the white? Try backing off the pressure a bit. Maybe even drop the speed to 4.5-5.5 finesse those abrasives.