PDA

View Full Version : Polishes and waxes

Delsil
07-09-2015, 08:35 AM
Hi Everyone, I am new on here and own a mobile auto detailing business in Northern Delaware and SE Pennsylvania. I have been detailing since 1992 when I first worked in a Wilmington, Delaware shop and then eventually started my own mobile business. I only do it part time now but still get a lot of clients. I have some questions on polishes, waxes and even buffers. I am little stale on processes as I have been using the same techniques for quite a long time but no complaints. I do want to get some ideas on what polishes and waxes everyone uses as well as buffers and pads. Currently I use a combination of Car Brite and Meguiars products and have used sparingly some....Liquid Glass. I am thinking of buying a DA buffer and have looked at the Porter Cable and Griot's. Some of the others are expensive but thought about them as well. I am looking for a buffing polish/glaze and then a top coat wax and/or sealant. Also if anyone has any thoughts of ceramic coating and what brands, I thought about offering this as well. Thanks in advance for your input. If interested my website is Sil's Mobile Auto Detail | West Chester, PA & Wilmington, DE (http://www.silsdetail.com).

Kamakaz1961
07-09-2015, 09:08 AM
Welcome to AGO. You will learn a lot from this site! As for a DA polisher you can't go wrong with a PC7424XP or the GG6". I have the PC, however, the GG6" might be the better choice.

It is more powerful and it is has a lifetime warranty. You can get multiple backing Plates and Pads for the GG6.

Both are versatile DA's. But the choice would be the GG for you. It is a great DA to learn.

I love my PC, but I outgrew it and still use it, however, I have upgraded to a Flex 3401.

Either way you will say DA or by hand, why did I wait so long?? The DA is the way to go.

Delsil
07-09-2015, 09:24 AM