PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: technique and towel to apply interior Detailer?

bobbydigital
06-09-2015, 02:52 AM
I'm relatively new to detailing and have a straightforward question for you pros:

What towel/applicator so you use for your interior Detailer products?

I'm using an edge less MF towel and using the technique of spraying on the towel (vs on the surface I'm cleaning). Makes sense to not saturate a given area too much.

However, I'm finding that my towel absorbs a ton of cleaning product (I'm using Adam's total interior Detailer) and very little gets on the surface I'm cleaning.

Am I just being too stingy and need to saturate the towel more? Should I use a damp towel?

Educate me :)

DogRescuer
06-09-2015, 04:46 AM
Hi, I use a mf applicator to apply all my dressings except tires and do a final wipe with a towel

Don M
06-09-2015, 06:00 AM
I would spray it on the surface(s) you want to treat. If you just spray the towel, the towel will try to remove the detailer instead of letting it apply to the surface. I was having the same problem, I would just spray the towel with more and more dressing but I wasn't really getting any on the dashboard. Now I just spray the dressing directly where I want it and then buff with a clean cloth.

Now if you're just DUSTING the interior and not trying to reapply the dressing, spraying the towel is perfectly OK since you're trying to attract the dust & dirt TO the towel.

tw33k2514
06-09-2015, 06:58 AM
I would spray it on the surface(s) you want to treat. If you just spray the towel, the towel will try to remove the detailer instead of letting it apply to the surface. I was having the same problem, I would just spray the towel with more and more dressing but I wasn't really getting any on the dashboard. Now I just spray the dressing directly where I want it and then buff with a clean cloth.