PDA

View Full Version : After Coating, how to keep it lasting?

Pages : [1] 2

burkempers
06-02-2015, 11:26 PM
I will be applying some kind of coating soon. Still not positive which one(cquartz, blackfire crystal coat, or maybe Kamikaze Miyabi---any suggestions). anyway, after it's applied, what can or can't i do to it? for general cleaning, etc, should i avoid washes with wax in them? can you use instant detailers, and which one? what i want is to keep maximum hydrophobic properties and make cleaning easier too. can something like Shine Supply EcoWash be diluted and work ok as a quick mist upkeep?
Thanks for any tips. I'm a newbie.

davey g-force
06-02-2015, 11:42 PM
That would depend on which coating you choose. Follow the manufacturer's recommendations.

Loach
06-03-2015, 01:01 AM
The safest bet is to stick with products that the manufacturer of the coating offers which may complement the performance of the coating. For example, CQuartz and their Reload spray sealant complement each other. Kamikaze Over Coat will complement their coatings. CarPro Reset is the soap designed to complement their CQuartz coatings.

But as far as it being an absolute necessary that you do so, it might not matter too much. Could be coating specific. With other products, I haven't found that using a soap that claims to have wax in it has any noticeable impact on the surface tension of the product compared to using a soap that doesn't have any wax in it.

silverfox
06-03-2015, 05:12 AM
Unlike wax or sealants, coating maintenance is manufacturer specific...follow their recommend routine to the letter. Never freelance with coatings, or you're likely going to regret it.

Ebg18t
06-03-2015, 05:13 AM
The biggest thing is to keep the surface clean. Wash with the manufacturers recommended soap regularly or a rinsless wash without wax. You shouldn't need a QD or topper since the coatings are so durable. CarPro offers Iron-X for periodic decontamination of the coating.