PDA

View Full Version : Waxing with a DA is Hard

TheAverageMan
05-24-2015, 11:40 PM
I'm new to detailing, good at waterless washing my new car. Good at windows, good at tires, and good at using a spray wax.

Used a real wax last week, Meg's ULW. Took me a LONG time with their small hand applicator. Thought I'd buy a DA just to wax, since I don't need to do any paint correction.

Got a beastly deal on Ebay.
MT300 (Used on like one or two cars)
Megs 6 inch backing plate (oldish one)
LC 5 inch backing plate
Optimum Hyper Compound unopened
Chemical Guys Black Light almost full bottle
All new pads
1x Megs finishing pad (old version)
2x Megs polishing pad (old version)
1x LC CCS blue finessing pad
1x LC CCS black finishing pad

All for 200 dollars.

Anyways, enough with my bragging on snatching a good deal.

Got the DA two days ago, used it today with ULW.

I CANNOT see my wax trail, and my car is white, so that doesn't help.
I marked my backing plate, to make sure its rotating, had the speed at 3800-4800 like the instructions on the MT300. Used only a few dime size drops of wax.

After trying for an hour, struggling with pad rotation, seeing where I am waxing, going on curves (Honda Fit 2015), and all, I said FUDGE it, and unplugged it.

Took the wrench, and got the backing plate off, and hand waxed my tiny car using the 6 inch pad and backing plate as a handle.

SO much easier to wax by hand, especially with a 6 inch applicator.

So here I am, asking what is the trick to using a DA with wax? I did my research, read Mikes article about him and two other Mikes waxing a car with DAs. I can't figure it out honestly.

Am I supposed to not be able to see my wax trail? I know it's supposed to be thin, but is it supposed to be thin to the point where no matter what angle of light I look at the spot with, I can't see anything?

Anyone else prefer to wax by hand, over using a DA?

2black1s
05-25-2015, 12:00 AM