PDA

View Full Version : Sealant and Wax

Pages : [1] 2

mattruggiero
05-22-2015, 04:44 PM
Hey guys - I'm new to this and have a question regarding sealants and wax. I've noticed some, not all, people use a combination of both so they get protection and the look they want. What I have also noticed is usually people who use both use an expensive sealant and a top end wax.

Can you even visually tell that a nice sealant has been applied with the wax covering it? I would think it'd be better to use something like Klasse High Gloss and then top with a nice wax. Anyway, I'm just curious. Thanks.

VISITOR
05-22-2015, 04:48 PM
another option is to just do two coats of the same wax or sealant...

Kamakaz1961
05-22-2015, 05:06 PM
I do the sealant and wax and IMO I can see a difference. I use Menzerna Powerlock Sealant and then I top it off with an excellent wax. Currently, I have Pinnacle Souveran Paste wax on it (2 coats) and IMO the wet look and depth is 2nd to none.

That is me...some others may disagree. IMO, you can tell the difference.

So visually I can tell on my ride....

mattruggiero
05-22-2015, 05:13 PM
I do the sealant and wax and IMO I can see a difference. I use Menzerna Powerlock Sealant and then I top it off with an excellent wax. Currently, I have Pinnacle Souveran Paste wax on it (2 coats) and IMO the wet look and depth is 2nd to none.

That is me...some others may disagree. IMO, you can tell the difference.

So visually I can tell on my ride....

Good to know! Can I ask why you use a sealant? Is it for protection purposes?

Riff
05-22-2015, 05:14 PM

I couldn't tell any difference with these 2 products except with the P21S over WGDGPS, it sheeted water slightly better.

Souldetailer
05-22-2015, 05:17 PM
another option is to just do two coats of the same wax or sealant...